Travel plans: hot spots wanted!

It’s now less than 48 hours until I leave the UK behind for the summer and head to the USA.  Nothing is packed yet, but two of the items I’m definitely taking are a couple of guidebooks I’ve picked up.  My visa allows me to stay for a month after I finish working at camp, so prior to my flight home, there is a lot of time for seeing the sights.

I decided early on to stay in the eastern part of the US, as I want to avoid taking up time and budget with internal flights to the west coast, plus there is loads to see in the east!  I’ve visited Boston before and am flying home from Florida, so a road trip from New York seems to make sense.

In true organiser fashion, I’ve got a (rapidly growing) list of things I’d like to do:

  1. Visit Washington DC – particularly the Smithsonian, which houses a pair of Judy Garland’s shoes from The Wizard of Oz, one of my favourite films
  2. Go to a baseball game – the likeliest candidate to fit in with my plans is currently Washington Nationals vs New York Mets on 30 August.  I may or may not have been seduced by the fact that you can buy a ticket package which includes a burger.  I’ve been to minor league games before, but not a major league one.  It’s also a fantastic opportunity to indulge my match-attending cravings – it’s an Ashes summer at home in the UK which I’m sad to be missing (note my optimism that I’ll be sad to miss Cook and his team batting and bowling – and perhaps sub fielding – their way to glory, rather than submitting to grim defeat)
  3. Visit New Orleans – a city which possibly couldn’t be much more different from DC and, incredibly for a city of festivals, I’ll be visiting during something of a quiet time.  That said, “NOLA” doesn’t seem to ever really do quiet.  The Cocktail Walking Tour not only sounds great, but has received brilliant reviews, so that’s something I’m hoping to participate in

The list is intentionally short for the moment: working at camp is a great place to meet new holiday buddies, so I’m keeping my mind open to a variety of possibilities.  With that in mind, I’m open to suggestions!  Maybe you’re a Nats fan who would like to sing with me during the seventh-inning stretchDo you have a top tip for DC or New Orleans (or anywhere in between?)?  Where else should I make time for during my trip?

I’m still very new to the world of blogging, but have picked up some lovely followers already.  One of them is Jess of The Rodney Diaries, who has been kind enough to nominate me for The Liebster Blog Award – a way of helping new bloggers to increase their following.  I intend to participate as soon as possible, but need to find other bloggers with fewer than 200 followers to recommend first.  It’s a busy week for me, which is a great chance for you to nominate any blogs you think I may find interesting or useful – I’m always on the lookout for new people to connect with and learn from, so please get in touch if you know any pages which fit the bill.

Next: back to my precious lists – time to start packing!

4 thoughts on “Travel plans: hot spots wanted!

  1. You have to stop in Philadelphia for a philly-cheesesteak. I used to do a rowing race in that area every summer, and we found a spot that we would literally drive 3 hours out of the way just to eat at. There are famous places, but my favorite way of doing it is finding a deli with the most jewish name, and trying my luck there. The Jewish people sure know how to deli. Have an awesome trip!

    • Thank you for the very quick reply! I’m a girl who likes to eat (and drool whilst watching the Food Network) so the infamous cheesesteaks are duly added to the list. I’ll be blogging all trip – expect a cheesesteak post in early September…

  2. Pingback: A former-Londoner’s guide to London | Kicking On

  3. Pingback: Holiday plans: update and request | Kicking On

Leave a Reply

