Zero to Hero day 1: who I am and why I’m here

Hello, my name’s Becky and I’m an… wait.  That’s not coming out right.

To explain: the people of WordPress are marking the new year with a blogging challenge.  Zero to hero is designed primarily to help those who have resolved to start a new blog or revive a neglected one, but is apparently suited to “established” blogs too.  I consider myself established in so far that I’m not new, but one thing I’m always keen to do is improve, so with that in mind – and the hope that I’ll learn at least something – I bookmarked the relevant page and here I am.

Mission accomplished already: I’ve learned a lot about widgets this evening.  Hooray.  And now on to the official challenge of the day: introducing myself.  WordPress quite rightly pointed out that this is useful in case anybody new decides to visit my blog, and so that I can remind myself why I do this.

You can find out a little more via my “About” page.  It’s short and sweet – when I first wrote it, I didn’t want my life story to detract from my day to day posts, and I saw it as filling the role of an “about the author” section inside a book.  Plus if there’s something you need to know and don’t, there’s a comment form.  Handy.

There are a variety of reasons as to why I blog.  One is because I need to – writing is something that I have always enjoyed.  I also like the world to be able to hear my thoughts – sometimes they’re interesting!  In 2013, I spent four months away from my home country, and my family wanted to know that I hadn’t been hit by a bus or run away and got married.  I wasn’t quite willing to become Facebook friends with my extended family, so I set up a blog for them to read.  My blog can also be a personal reflection on things I’ve done and things I’d like to do; it’s a way for me to keep an eye on myself as much as it is for the world to keep tabs on me!

It’s fair to say that the main purpose of the blog changes slightly.  I’ve been “home” since the end of September and since then I’ve mainly blogged on stories which have an impact on me and things which have happened.  It’s not a day to day journal of the minutiae of my life as such, but if there’s something you’d like to know, you’re welcome to ask.

I always intended the blog to have two strands: horses and riding have always been a big part of my life, and as it’s something I’m passionate about, I find it easy to write about.  So as not to alienate non-horse people and give my family something to read about, I decided to post twice per week – once about horses, once about anything else I found interesting.  I’ve largely stuck to that aim, and I like to have as few rules as possible – it’s my blog and I’ll write what I want!

I’ve enjoyed blogging since I started back in May, and I’d like to have my blog grow in 2014.  What I’d really like is to write for other outlets too, having had glimmers of success thanks to guest posting on another site and being featured briefly in the end of year reader issue of a magazine (in photographic, rather than written form) during 2013.

Whatever happens, I’m looking forward to documenting the year ahead and learning as much as possible as I go.

2 thoughts on “Zero to Hero day 1: who I am and why I’m here

  1. Pingback: DAY 6: PUBLISH A POST THAT INCLUDES A NEW ELEMENT YouTube Paul Walker R.I.P. | ♥ Jackie Speaks It ♥

  2. Pingback: Riding the mind behind strange eyes…Zero to hero Day 16 | alienorajt

Leave a Reply

