Twisted Mixtape 43: turn that frown upside down

The mixtape challenge this week is to cheer someone up.  The prompt details that these tracks can be aimed at someone specific, but I’ve decided to go for the angle of what cheers me up, and what might make other people smile too.

The first song I’m going to play you is about drugs.  But a lot of people don’t know that.  I suspect one of them is my Dad, who played this song frequently for my sister and me when we were little.  I imagine he perhaps regrets getting us into it, because it was on regular repeat.  This song – and the memories of dancing around to it as a child – makes me smile.

R.E.M. – Shiny Happy People

The second song is another childhood anthem.  I was brought up by a Beatles fan and a Beatles hater.  Thanks to the government ramming The Beatles down our throats at school, I now edge towards the hater camp (and am firmly in it if Eleanor Rigby happens to come on).  But there are a few exceptions to the rule.  I know that this song has a wide appeal, and the nature of it will always remind me of childish mucking around.

The Beatles – Yellow Submarine

I arrived at the party a little late with this band, but I fell head over heels for them when I was 15 and impressionable.  This is the song which started it all for me and hearing it makes me look back on seeing them live and being very happy about it.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – By The Way


This song mainly cheers me up because it reminds me of a TV advert which I found very entertaining.  Long story short, it makes me get up, dance and forget what I was upset about (most of the time).

Culture Club – Karma Chameleon

To finish, one of the best bands Zane Lowe’s radio show is responsible for introducing me to, which led to possibly the best gig I’ve ever been to, from an album which I termed “happiness on a disc” when I bought it (back in the pre-iPhone days when I actually purchased CDs).  This is the opening track from their debut album, and I would urge you to at the very least listen to the rest of it on Spotify or whatever it is you use to stream music before deciding to bite the bullet and download it.  You’ll be happier for it.

The Go! Team – Panther Dash

Did any of these songs cheer you up?  If so, let me know which!  No hating though, please, let’s be positive!

2 thoughts on “Twisted Mixtape 43: turn that frown upside down

  1. Thank you so much for joining again! You are obviously a little younger than me 😉 So I enjoyed listening to your thoughts on these songs! I will definitely check out The Go Team further!

Leave a Reply

