Twisted MixTape 44: In the mood

The theme in the mixtape challenge for this week is… motivation.  Which is something I’m terrible at finding.  I’m a big procrastinator, and tend to do things as and when I get inspired in a huge burst, rather than when I should.  Because of that, this feels like really bad advice, but I’m hoping that you all ignore that and listen to the music instead.

I’ve realised I’m actually going to struggle to put into words why these songs motivate me.  Because at least two of the five just make me want to get up and dance.  So maybe we’ll use those first.  If nothing else, these two songs galvanise me into some sort of physical action.  It may not be a strictly productive action, but that’s better than inactivity.

Fatboy Slim – Right here, right now

Barenaked Ladies – One week

By now, you should be moving.  You’re starting to feel like you can Do Stuff.  So it’s time to focus.  And these two songs are focus music for me.  Possibly because they don’t have the additional distraction of a vocal (have I mentioned before that I get distra… oh, shiny!).  Er.  Focus.  Yes.

I find it fairly easy to concentrate on something which isn’t these tracks when these tracks are playing.  I find the first to be soothing and the second is uplifting.  Here you go – concentrate.

Ludovico Einaudi – Divenire

London Symphony Orchestra – Chariots of fire

And to finish, because by now, you might be finding it tough.  It’s time to dig deep and plough on.  The finish is in sight.  You’re close.  But you’re flagging, motivation is waning, you’re tired and that bottle of wine which awaits you is whispering your name.  Stay focused, stay strong.  Because it isn’t the task which is harder than you think, it’s you.  You’re stronger, tougher, and you can do it.

Public Enemy – Harder than you think

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Leave a Reply

