Celebrating

Kicking On is one year old later this week!  To celebrate, I’m having an impromptu bumper post week and today, I’m celebrating some of my brilliant friends.

As I’m heading off to the US soon, I’ve been trying to catch up with various friends and family who I won’t see for a while.  Last weekend, I did just that, spending a day at Lord’s (aka the Home of Cricket) in London with two close friends.  It turned out to be a special occasion for several reasons: both friends are celebrating significant birthdays this year, and we realised that this year marks nine years of friendship (plans are now afoot for next year’s tenth anniversary!).  Lord’s is 200 this year (and looking very good on it), and the matches we attended were a first for the ground – it hasn’t previously staged a double-header (and, after the home team lost twice in one day, I suspect they may not be in a hurry to repeat the experience).

We saw two domestic Twenty20 games: Middlesex vs Essex and Middlesex vs Sussex.  The sun shone all day, we managed to sustain remarkably little sunburn and consumed a lot of cheese.  It was great to catch up with two of my favourite people, especially as I haven’t seen one of them since I waved her off from our hostel in New Orleans last September!

It’ll be at least four months until I see my friends again, but they and our brilliant day out will be in my thoughts.

2. lord's london cricket pavilion

Lord’s – the Home of Cricket’s famous pavilion

3. lord's london media centre cricket ground

by contrast: the ultra-modern media centre (fun fact – it was designed by boat builders)

4. pyrotechnics lord's twenty20 london summer saturday cricket

fire! Twenty20 is the “quick” form of the game, and tries to generate a lively atmosphere

6. lord's celebration drink cheers party cricket

forbidden items at Lord’s: flags, banners and musical instruments. But you can BYOB

5. lord's sunny evening london cricket twenty20 match

sunny day burned into a lovely evening

7. lord's home of cricket london england panorama summer twenty20 sunshine

panoramic shot of the ground

1. friends birthday celebration cricket london

happy birthday, girls!

Leave a Reply

