Getting around

Apart from the facts that I have yet to save up and have nowhere to keep a horse, one of the factors which is holding me back in my First Horse Hunt is the fact that I have no means of transporting said furry friend.  Neither my parents nor I own a vehicle which is capable of towing a trailer, and I’ve also never towed anything before.  So I’m sure you can also make the leap that my own horsebox wouldn’t be in the offing either (unless I win the lottery and hire a chauffeur).

So this presents a logistical issue and, although it’s one I needn’t worry about too much just yet, it has got me thinking.  Obviously, when I obtain an equine, I will need to transport him or her from their current home to their new one (unless I’m incredibly lucky and they won’t be moving house or it’s hackable).  Then, once said horse is in my possession, there are two or three eventualities for which I would require transport: medical (either emergencies or investigations which aren’t able to take place at home); social (we might like to attend a sponsored ride or play day, go to the beach or just trailer to a friend’s for a visit); competitive (another unlikely one, as it’s not something which is in my plans, but you never know!).  Many of these situations would be planned, and it’s not unreasonable that my horse and I could travel with a helpful friend who does have a box or trailer and the ability to drive one, but is this the sort of thing you want to be stressing about in an emergency?

Which brings me to the point of my post: how much of a priority should this realistically be?  Given that I have time, it’s not outside of the realms of possibility that I could ask a friend to teach me about towing and let me practice.  Saving for a suitable car and trailer would be another matter, but is this something which should be high up my list?  My guess is that the answer is “it depends”.  As with many things, it depends where my horse would be kept, how friendly and available the other owners are and proximity to said vet, social activities and other opportunities.

How long’s a piece of string?  Pick up any and add a bit.

3 thoughts on “Getting around

  1. You could see if any of the equestrian businesses in your area do transport (and have the relevant livestock transport certificate). If you only rarely want to move your horse it might be worth it. I have no way of moving my horse myself but the yard owner does transport if we ever needed it. Most people on our yard don’t have their own pony transport.

    • Also in an emergency the vet will come out to you. And I would expect a decent horse insurance policy to at least contribute to emergency transport costs if hospitalisation was needed. To be honest even if I had transport if my horse was going to hospital I probably wouldn’t be fit to drive it there myself.

      • all good points, thank you! I think my opinion comes as I live in quite a charmed area where most of my horsey friends keep their horses at home or in a rented field privately, so aren’t attached to big livery yards with friends and facilities… so I guess where you intend to keep your horse plays a part here. Being able to get yourself around gives you a greater deal of flexibility, I suppose, but as you say – is that really necessary?

Leave a Reply

